Swans on the lake at Swinton Park

Reviews & Awards

Guest Reviews
 

Guest Reviews

A small selection of the comments and feedback we have received from recent guests.
find out more >

Press Reviews & Listings

Press Reviews & Listings

Reviews of Swinton Park from the Press.
find out more >

Guest Reviews

Guest Reviews

Fine dining and good old fashioned service.
We visited here to join friends who were staying for a few nights. The food was, as described by others, beautifully presented and offered a real treat for the taste buds. The service from everyone we spoke with was efficient and attentive without being obsequious. On arriving my wife mentioned to the restaurant manager that there were a few things that I am unable to eat due to illness so I was particularly impressed when, after we had made our dinner choices, he came to tell me that chef said that the fish in my choice was prepared in a way that might not suit but that they could offer the same dish with an alternative fish that might be more appropriate.
Harrogate_Folk,TripAdvisor, April 2015

Again Outstanding
Having decided at the last minute to escape to Swinton for a weekend of pure relaxation we booked Samuel’s. Once again it was simply outstanding, service impeccable, food a mouthwatering delight, rich, different, fresh, surprising and set in what has to be the most beautiful castle ever! But I hope not many people read this as it’s our hidden gem. Milner80, TripAdvisor, March 2015

A lovely evening with fantastic food.
I dined with my boyfriend and my mum as a late Mother’s Day present – it’s her favourite restaurant. We had a fantastic experience from start to finish. We began with drinks in the cosy bar and were served some beautiful canapés while we perused the menu. We chose to do the tasting menu and had a lovely South African Chenin blanc to accompany. The food was fantastic. Every course was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The beef main course was amazing and the recommended red wine the waiter served was a perfect accompaniment. Everything was perfectly done with a signed card from the chef telling us about each course and a potted plant on the table as a belated Mother’s Day gift. The dining room is beautiful with service to match. Every aspect of the evening was lovely and I can’t wait to return. Thank you for a wonderful evening. chapmanss, TripAdvisor, March 2015

 

As we drove up to the hotel, the sight of this impressive building was breathtaking….our room had lovely antique style furnishings, original paintings, lovely comfy bed, nice tea/coffee tray and Molton Brown toiletries…..I felt like I was staying at Downton Abbey, it was beautiful – Mr & Mrs Almond, September 2012

Second time we have stayed here and we were not disappointed. Everything is uperb; staff, location, rooms, food, ambience….not sure why it’s only a four star as I have stayed in five star hotels that are far inferior. Looking forward to my next visit already – Mrs B, TripAdvisor, September 2012

This hotel has loads of excellent reviews and it is difficult to write what hasn’t been written before…the staff and the service are superb. The restaurant really deserves a Michelin star, we have eaten in many places and what we were presented with here was as good as anywhere, beautiful presentation and superbly crafted dishes….Swinton Park fully deserves it’s high rating – TripAdvisor review, August 2012

Yet another two night stay at this lovely hotel. We brought new faces to experience all that my husband and I love about this wonderful place….for us it is the staff that puts Swinton Park above its competitors – Mr & Mrs Waite, August 2012

We are fortunate to live within an hour’s drive from Swinton Park and have enjoyed lunches on Sundays and weekdays, spa days and a barbeque in the Deerpark….this is really a very special place – Mrs Williams, August 2012

My wife and I spend four nights at Swinton Park in early August and it was everything we have come to expect from this outstanding hotel…we have been regular visitors to this hotel over the last few years and the standards are always excellent – Mr & Mrs Edwards, August 2012

 

 

 

 

 

Press Reviews & Listings

Press Reviews & Listings

The ‘Ultimate Sunday Lunch’ course with Stephen Bulmer, Chef Director of the Swinton Park Cookery School – Dales Life, Winter 2014 (PDF, 4.18 Mb)

A Soufflé Masterclass with Stephen Bulmer, Chef Director of the Swinton Park Cookery School – Yorkshire Life, November 2014 (PDF, 1.25 Mb)

Read Square Meal’s review of Samuel’s at Swinton Park.

Review of the hotel and restaurant by Grace Parry from Eat Travel Live – Eat Travel Live review.

Review of the Cookery School from ‘Eat Travel Live’ – Read the review

Dales Life – Summer 2013 Issue – listings for events at Swinton Park appear on page 101.

Interview with Stephen Bulmer – Northern Echo, August 2013 (PDF, 6.71 Mb)

“The ultimate eco friendly glamping break” – Baby Hampshire, 4 July 2013 (PDF, 1045 Kb)

“The ultimate eco friendly glamping break” – Baby London, 4 July 2013 (PDF, 689 Kb)

“Characterful and welcoming castle hotel….. full of Yorkshire warmth” – Country & Town House UK Hotel Guide 2013 (PDF, 846 Kb)

“A fun, engaging environment at Swinton Park’s Cookery School” – Food And Travel, 1 June 2013 (PDF, 249 Kb)

“Swinton Park’s beautifully restored walled garden” – House and Garden, May 2013 (PDF, 1102 Kb)

“Community Effort Puts Town On The Map” – Yorkshire Post, 11 May 2013 (PDF, 468 Kb)

“How The Expert Cooks Asparagus” – The Times, 11 May 2013 (PDF, 1449 Kb)

“Dollops of Yorkshire warmth and professional service” – The Sunday Telegraph, 5 May 2013 (PDF, 908 Kb)

“Swinton Park the place to be king of the castle” – 28 April 2013, Sunday Express (PDF, 1622 Kb)

“Exacting standards at Swinton Park’s Cookery School” = Sunday Telegraph, Stella Magazine, 7 April 2013 (PDF, 466 Kb)

“Family cooking course at Swinton Park” – Junior Magazine, April 2013 (PDF, 2036 Kb)

“Dog friendly hotel” – Telegraph Magazine, 16 March 2013 (PDF, 1443 Kb)

“Gourmet Britain” – The Travel & Leisure Magazine, 4 April 2013 (PDF, 2118 Kb)

Review of the Cookery School from Dales Life, Spring 2013. (PDF, 815 Kb)

“Samuel’s Restaurant wins Yorkshire Restaurant of the Year White Rose Award 2012″ Review from the Darlington & Stockton Times, November 2012

“One of the finest chefs in Yorkshire” Yorkshire Post Magazine, October 2012

“Samuel’s, the restaurant that serves stand-out seasonal British food” Olive Magazine – Plot to Pot – May 2012 (PDF, 875 KB)

Sustainable Restaurant award and Land-Free Status celebrations : http://www.ripongazette.co.uk/community/your-community/top-marks-for-swinton-park-and-three-star-award-1-4330922

Recommended Romantic Breaks at Conde Nast Traveller : http://www.cntraveller.com/recommended/romantic-breaks/romantic-hotels-in-the-uk-and-ireland/swinton-park

Elle UK Places to Stay : http://www.elleuk.com/travel/places-to-stay/swinton-park

Six of the Best Riding Hotels in the UK, Red : http://www.redonline.co.uk/travel/inspiration/six-of-the-best-riding-hotels-in-the-uk?img=4

“Exquisite grounds”, Red : http://www.elleuk.com/travel/places-to-stay/swinton-park

“The very epitome of a grand country house”, Dales Life : http://www.daleslife.com/dining/samuel%E2%80%99s-restaurant-at-swinton-park-masham/

“Old-fashioned in the best sort of way”, Good Hotel Guide : http://www.goodhotelguide.com/Ripon/Hotel/Swinton+Park+Hotel+-+Yorkshire?search=1

“Utterly glorious”, Sawdays : http://www.sawdays.co.uk/britain/england/yorkshire/swinton-park

“Spacious and beautifully designed bedrooms”, Frommers : http://www.frommers.com/destinations/yorkshiredalesnationalpark/H48123.html

“A wonderful experience”, Hardens : http://www.hardens.com/az/restaurants/masham/hg4/samuels-swinton-park-hotel-and-spa.htm

10 Best Cookery Schools, The Independent : http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/features/the-10-best-cookery-schools-6256859.html

Inspectors Choice 4 Star 2013-14

Inspectors Choice 4 Star 2013-14

 

Trip Advisor Travellers’ Choice 2015

 

The 2015 Travellers Choice award recognises Swinton Park as a Top 10 hotel in the UK, based on guest reviews. (opens in new window)

 

Trip Advisor Award for Excellence 2014

 

The 2014 Certificate of Excellence is awarded to the top-performing 10% worldwide, based on guest reviews. (opens in new window)

 

Visit England Awards for Excellence – ‘Best Small Hotel’ Silver 2014

Welcome to Yorkshire White Rose Award – Best Small Hotel 2013

Visit England Awards of Excellence - ‘Best Small Hotel’ Silver 2014

Welcome to Yorkshire White Rose Award - Best Small Hotel 2013

 

Visit England Awards for Excellence – ‘Taste of Britain’ Gold 2013 for Samuel’s Restaurant

The British Cookery School Awards Winner 2014

Visit England Awards of Excellence - ‘Taste of Britain’ Gold 2013 for Samuel’s Restaurant

Stephen Bulmer from Swinton Park wins best tutor at the British Cookery School Awards 2014

Sustainable Restaurant Association 2013

Good Hotel Guide 2015

Sustainable Restaurant Association 2013

Good Hotel Guide 2015 Editor’s Choice Award - Historic Hotels

Green Tourism Gold

Tea Guild 2012

Green Tourism Gold

Tea Guild 2012

Yorkshire Life 2011

 

Yorkshire Life 2011

 

Book Accommodation Online Now

Book Accommodation Online Now

Latest News

Don’t Miss… the amazing Druid’s Temple on the Swinton Estate, as featured on BBC’s Secret Britain, which showcased the wonderful scenery of North Yorkshire. The Druid’s Temple is located in the woods next to Swinton Bivouac, our luxury ‘glamping’ site where you can also enjoy coffee, light meals and events at the cafe bistro.

Looking Ahead… Work has commenced on our Country Club and Spa, which will include an indoor swimming pool with full spa and fitness facilities, as well as a 40-seat conservatory restaurant, coffee shop and Swinton Estate shop. Please see our press release for more information.